From the Office for Cultural and Scientific Affairs we would like to congratulate the following Spanish researchers, who received awards last week from British institutions.

The London School of Economics has awarded the LSE Class Teacher Award at the Faculty of History of the London School of Economics to Marina Pérez de Arcos.

The Royal Society of Chemistry of the United Kingdom, the oldest in the world (founded in 1841), has awarded two researchers born and educated in Zaragoza: Luis Oro and José María Goicoechea.

Oro, Emeritus Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Zaragoza and HERALDO Award 2016 for Human Values and Knowledge, will receive the Lord Lewis Award, a distinction that society grants for the first time to a non-British chemist. The award aims to recognize contributions in gold metal organometallic chemistry, as well as its contribution to scientific research and European funding policy.

José María Goicoechea, Professor in Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Oxford, will receive the award for the Main Group Chemistry for his recent work on new chemical compounds of phosphorus and arsenic.